Association of Classified Employees

Mission Statement

The Association of Classified Employees (ACE), an officially recognized organization for classified employees at the Colorado School of Mines (CSM), is dedicated to the following:

  • Support the mission, goals and objectives of the Colorado School of Mines.
  • Facilitate effective communication between the Association's membership and the CSM Community.
  • Promote a campus spirit of mutual cooperation and respect.
  • Promote the highest degree of professionalism within the Association's membership and support activities to enhance professional performance.
  • Recognition of Association members for outstanding contributions to CSM and the Community at-large.

ACE in the Hole Funds

ACE has an Emergency Assistance Fund that was established through fundraising by ACE members several years ago.  This fund, affectionately termed the "ACE in the Hole Fund" is for use by Classified emplyees who find themselves "in the hole" at any point.  Classified employees can submit an application to the ACE Council for an Emergency Assistance Grant.  Further explanation and the application form can be downloaded herePDF versionText only version.

Classified Employees Serving on CSM Committees

Student Conduct Appeals Committee - Barbara Schellenberger (term ends May 2018) and Carolyn Freedman (term ends May 2019)  Meets as needed

University Safey Committee - David Frossard (term ends May 2018)  and Andrew Brewer (term ends May 2019) Meets 2X a semester

Calendar Committee - Jody Lowther (term ends May 2019)

Sustainability - Caroline Fuller (term ends May 2018)

For a complete description of each committee, please see Section 12 of the Mines Faculty Handbook.  LinkPDF versionText only version

For more information about committees contact



Classified Employee of the Year

2017 Megan Rose

2016 Nancy Bliss-Kelly
  Student Activities
2015 Tabatha Brawand, 
2014 Kelly Hummel, 
2013 Vanessa Gonzalez, 
2012 Margi Aguiar, 
  Financial Aid
2011 Barbara Johnson, 
2010 Connie Warren, 
2009 Michael Stadick, 
  Chemical Engineering
2008 Jennie Kenney, 
  Academic Affairs
2007 Janee Hodges, 
  Student Life
2006 Paula Gorsline (posthumous) , 
  Student Life 
2005 Paul Leef, 
  Plant Facilities
2004 Teresa Hall, 
  Plant Facilities
2003 Blair Draper, 
  Plant Facilities
2002 Betty Alexander, 
  Plant Facilities