Classified Employees of the Year

Employee of the Year 2017

Megan Rose

Chemistry Department

Megan Rose, the fiscal manager and graduate program coordinator for the Department of Chemistry, received the Colorado School of Mines 2017 Employee of the Year award.

Rose was recognized at the Classified Staff Recognition Breakfast on Thursday, October 19, in Friedhoff Hall. She has worked in the office of the Chemistry Department for a little more than a year and a half.

Mines President Paul Johnson said Rose’s work has been appreciated by both students and faculty, and he read some excerpts from Rose’s nomination:

“Megan has created an inclusive culture of community in the Chemistry Department. She regularly demonstrates a level of engagement and maturity in her job that indicates her abilities as a manager.”

“She genuinely cares about the people with whom she interacts—this is not just a job to her.”

“She holds herself to a high standard of accuracy and manages her tasks and communications efficiently.”

Employee of 2016

Nancy Bliss-Kelly

Student Activities

Employee of 2015

Tabatha Brawand


Employee of 2014

Kelly Hummel

Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Employee of 2013

Vanessa Gonzalez


Employee of 2012

Margi Aguiar

Financial Aid

Employee of 2011

Barbara Pratt-Johnson


Employee of 2010

Connie Warren


Employee of 2009

Michael Stadick

Chemical Engineering

Employee of 2008

Jennie Kenney

Academic Affairs

Employee of 2007

Janee Hodges

Student Life

Employee of 2006

Paula Gorsline (Posthumous)

Student Life

Employee of 2005

Paul Leaf

Plant Facilities

Employee of 2004

Teresa Hall

Plant Facilities

Employee of 2003

Blair Draper

Plant Facilities

Employee of 2002

Betty Alexander

Plant Facilities